Cleaning costs and welcome packs. How much is too much??

Agencies and other headaches, keys and cleaners, running costs and contracts...in short, all the things we spend so much of our time doing behind the scenes.<br>
Willow500

Cleaning costs and welcome packs. How much is too much??

Post by Willow500 »

Newbie here, we’ve had our FHL since Oct 2021 so I have no idea of how much is too much to pay for cleaners! I go through an agent (holidaycottages.co.uk) but have just left their management service as I was paying £200 per changeover plus £30pm management fee!

I have sourced a local cleaner who is slightly cheaper at £180 but that includes a 6 hour clean, all laundry for a three bed cottage and welcome pack. The welcome pack is tea, coffee, sugar, fresh milk, biscuits, wine and crisps. I can drop the welcome pack if I want and do my own and save £16. The clean is just then £165

The cottage is in Norfolk, does £180 sound about right nowadays or do you think?

I’m 3hrs away so can’t do it all myself unfortunately 🥴

Eternally grateful for any help/advice! Thanks
newtimber

Re: Cleaning costs and welcome packs. How much is too much??

Post by newtimber »

Has the local cleaner got a backup in case they are sick/ away on holiday because the last thing you need is for them to suddenly say they can't do it and you've got guests arriving in 6 hours and you're a 3 hour drive away.

What options do you have? If there isn't anyone else who is really good, then you have to pay whatever as you can't clean it yourself. Taking on a poor cleaner who is cheaper that's not going to help in the long run as the reviews will be terrible and you'll have endless hassle dealing with unhappy guests. Laundry is actually quite a thing if you have back to back short breaks as if you have to send things off to laundry, it is very expensive and you have to buy 4 times the quantity as it won't come back in time for the next changeover .