7 Students ...would you???

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
Ripley

7 Students ...would you???

Post by Ripley »

Hi,
I'm in my first year with OD - so far fully booked from 21st May - Sept so it couldn't be going better. However, I have only had experience of one set of guests so far (they were lovely!)

I've just had a booking request from a group of 7 students - a mix of medical graduate and languages students - "looking for a peaceful catch up in beautiful Devon..."!

We're actually in Greece on holiday ourselves over the period they want. My question is: Would you accept the booking?? I spoke to the lead girl who she sounds very lovely and respectable but...anyone experience with STUDENTS?! Am i mad to take this booking or am I being judgmental ??
Any advice would be fab, thanks .

:D
Casscat

Post by Casscat »

Are you rural or coastal or urban Devon? It sounds as if you are in the countryside. Packs of students don't tend to select rural tranquillity if they want to spend their holiday getting drunk, eating kebabs, throwing up and fighting. They could be mature students or post-grads. They could be undergraduates but the studious variety who just like long country walks and half a shandy at the local inn. I'd probably take the booking. If you are worried you could increase the damage deposit.
Essar

Post by Essar »

Could be a scam - can you quote the full email you received.
"Write something, even if it's just a suicide note"
"There is no human problem which could not be solved if people would simply do as I advise"
"As for my amnesia, I've had it as long as I can remember"
Casscat

Post by Casscat »