Gite - what extras are expected or required?

If you are planning to buy a rental home, or you're thinking about what to do with one you have just acquired, this is the place for any questions about starting out in the rentals business.
Sweetpea

Gite - what extras are expected or required?

Post by Sweetpea »

Hello
I am a newbie and have lots to learn. and love LMH and have lurked around for a while and have npw found the courage to register.
After 10 years of owning a large house in France we have created a gite there - self-contained and for 2-4 people. It is one large room with a kitchen, a shower room and separate bedroom. It will be ready for next summer and I wonder what extras I should supply and how much?

For example in the kitchen - things like spices and herbs in jars, and other condiments, anything in tins or jars etc...
I plan to have a welcome basket as I know that on arrival it's good to be able to have a drink and something to eat.

In the bathroom I would leave the usual soaps/shower wash as there is a shower not a bath. Toilet paper - how much? as I have heard of people taking it away - not a big deal, but the rent will be modest.
Any thoughts on this? Many thanks in advance!
kevsboredagain

Post by kevsboredagain »

Welcome to the forum. We don't bite so no need for courage.

One thing I learned over the years was that some people object to half used items, even when it is items like rice, sugar, coffee ... things that last a while but are obvious when someone else has used them first. I therefore just try to leave things like herbs/spices, sealed coffee capsules and sachets and sealed sugar sachets. That include loo rolls too! Sometimes I use up the things myself as it doesn't bother me personally.