Hi, can anyone recommend an english speaking lawyer/

For topics that are specific to Spain, please go here.
amber

Hi, can anyone recommend an english speaking lawyer/

Post by amber »

fiscal representative in the Mijas area/nearby vicinity of Costa del Sol. I need to discuss paying tax on rental income. I believe this is supposed to be done quarterly, I am somewhat late in declaring my income, do you have to be clear on what weeks were rented out or can I make out it was rented later in the year than it was? Any advice would be much appreciated as this is my first year of rental.

On a different note, this is the first time I have been on this website and the amount of information and advice in one place is brilliant.

thanks
ashtondav

Post by ashtondav »

Hi

Prepare to be shocked!

1. Yes fill them in quarterly, for each owner if jointly owned.

2. You get taxed at 25% of all rents with no deductions allowed for cleaning, electricity etc.

3. You will pay a surcharge on all rents paid later than 21 days after the quarter. Your lawyer will suggest you declare them.

4. You need special envelopes from tax office

5. you also need special bar code stickers from the tax office

6. you will pay a surcharge if you pay later than 21 days after quarter end

7. I went to a lawyer in Torre del Mar (PM me for name and email).

8. He filled in my historic forms, obtained a good supply of special envelopes and bar code stickers and taught me how to download and complete the forms for the future (easy when you know how). He laso warned me i would receive surcharge demands.

9. You can deduct any Spanish tax paid from any English tax demanded.

I sent my special envelope, return and bar code stickers to my bank in Jan for paying the final quarter last year and all went well.

Sadly I have now received the demands for the surcharges on my original 3 quarters of rents.