Where have all my bookings gone ?

For everything specific to B&Bs as opposed to holiday rentals.
cumulus

Where have all my bookings gone ?

Post by cumulus »

Hi all

I'm relatively new to this, so no real experience of how bookings pan out during the year, but so far May has been a total dud ! I'm getting about a quarter of the enquiries I was receiving in Jan through to April, and most of these are one nighters, and/or don't reply to my email answering their initial enquiry.....

Is this normal ?

BTW I have good tripadvisor reviews, and this is one of my main marketing tools, but a recent one, although 5 stars etc did perhaps inadvertently make me sound a bit like a saloon bar bore, which I assure you I am not ! Could this be the culprit ?

What do you think ?

Thanks
voltaire

i seem to have 2 usernames ....

Post by voltaire »

I seem to have started this thread with the wrong username .... don't know why I have 2
La Chouette

Post by La Chouette »

After 7 years I can honestly say that almost nothing's normal! This is the first night in May when we've not had guests or cooked a table d'hôte meal and I can't tell you how much I'm looking forward to a quiet night in, so to speak!

Every year seems different, with almost no pattern to it, so if I were you, I'd rest while you can and look forward to being busy later.

Are your enquiries just English speakers or are you hoping to attract the French market? No matter what, you do need your website in French too here as you're running a business in France. I haven't looked, but are you listed with Google places so you come up well in searches?

Bon courage,

Jan
pete

Post by pete »

Well done Jan for being busy, we are having a quiet May compared to last year but its ticking by and paying its way.

Volaire,

I do think that if you are in a stopover route (as we are too) you will get your fair share of one nighters, we dont mind, they usually eat and then move off in the morning quite promptly.